التشغيل اآللي

★★☆☆☆

مقاومة للشقوق

★★★★☆

اإلمساك للمسمار/البرغي

★★★☆☆

اللصق

★★★★☆

هي فصيلة تتكون من خمسة أنواع تنوب األصلي: تنوب والتنوب الكبير )الشوح كاليفورنيا األحمر )الشوح البهي( وتنوب الكبير( والتنوب األبيض )الشوح ذو اللون الموحد( وتنوب المحيط الهادئ الفضي )الشوح نوبل )تنوب بروسيرا( . مع الشوكران الغربي )تسوجة هيتروفيال( المستحب( فضل كونها أخشاب ناعمة الحبيبات وتنوع أدائها اإلنشائي، يتم تسويق هذه األشجار كما لو كانت أخشاب لينة أنيقة إذ أنها تندرج تحت الخشب األبيض كما تجمع بين الجمال والقوة. ً وأيضا تتفاوت ألوانها من األلوان الفاتحة مثل خشب الربيع األبيض القشدي إلى لون القش البني الفاتح )الشوكران( أو البني المائل إلى الحمرة )التنوب(.

االستخدامات الرئيسية

االستخدامات الرئيسية تستخدم في النجارة التي تتطلب آالت دقيقة وألوان شاحبة ولصق ممتاز مثل القوالب وعارضات األسقف المكشوفة واألبواب وفتحات التهوية والنوافذ واألثاث واألرضيات والمنتجات الرقائقية اإلنشائية وغير اإلنشائية. المنتجات اإلنشائية مثل األنظمة الهندسية والهيكلة.

التوزيع والوفرة

تحتل المركز الثاني بالنسبة إلى دوجالس فير فقط من حيث الوفرة، وتمثل أشجار التنوب حوالي 22 بالمائة من إنتاج األخشاب الصلبة من إقليم الغابات الغربية. كما تنمو هذه الفصائل مساحات بطول شاطئ المحيط الهادئ من شمال كاليفورنيا وحتى أالسكا وتمتد بالداخل بطول الحدود األمريكية الكندية وحتى مونتانا. تتوفر تلك األشجار بطبيعة الحال.

الخصائص الطبيعية والميكانيكية

ظر الرسم البياني في صفحة 18/19 .نسيج رائع وحبيبات مستقيمة. يتم صقلها حتى تصبح ناعمة كالحرير بفضل عدم قابليتها للتشقق. يتراوح الوزن من 537 إلى 626 كجم لكل متر مكعب. تشكل المظهر العقدي ألعمال النجارة والمظهر ً األقل تعقيدا لإلنشاءات العامة. كما تتميز بالصالبة والقوة العالية. بجانب تميزها بخصائص العزل الجيد. وتحتفظ بلونها األصلي إلى حد كبير.

المتانة

متينة إلى حد ما. تتميز بدرجة متوسطة من سهولة المعالجة

Machining

★★☆☆☆

Splitting resistance

★★★★☆

Screw/nail-holding

★★★☆☆

Gluing

★★★★☆

A species combination of the five true firs: California Red fir (Abies magnifica), Grand fir (Abies grandis), White fir (Abies concolor), Noble fir (Abies procera) and Pacific Silver fir (Abies amabilis) with Western hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla). Fine-grained and with interchangeable structural performance, these trees are marketed together as an elegant softwood, classified as a white wood, combining beauty and strength. A very light colour, from creamy white spring wood to a light straw-brown (hemlock) or reddish-brown (firs).

Main Uses

Joinery that requires precision machining, a pale color and excellent gluing, such as mouldings, exposed ceilings, doors, louvres, windows, furniture, flooring and laminated structural and non-structural products. Structural products, such as framing and engineered systems.

Distribution & Availability

Second only to Douglas fir in abundance, Hem-fir accounts for 22 per cent of solid sawn production from the Western Woods region. The species grow in stands along the Pacific Coast from Northern California to Alaska and inland along the US/Canadian border as far as Montana. Readily available.

Physical & Mechanical Properties

Straight grain and fine texture. Sands to a silky smoothness with virtually no tendency to split. Weight ranges from 537 to 626 kg per cubic metre. Knotty appearance grades for joinery; lower knotty grades for general construction. Good strength and stiffness. Good insulating properties. Holds its original colour well.

Durability

Slightly durable. Moderately easy to treat.