可加工性

★★☆☆☆

抗裂性能

★★★★☆

握钉性能

★★★☆☆

胶黏性能

★★★★☆

该树种包括五种冷杉:加州红冷杉(Abies magnifica) 、大冷杉(Abies grandis)、白 冷杉(Abies concolor) 、壮丽冷杉(Abies procera) 以及太平洋银冷杉(Abies amabilis) 和西部铁杉(Tsuga heterophylla) 。铁冷杉纹 理细密,具可互换的结构性能,作为优雅软木 销售。其类别为白木,兼具美观和高强度等优 点。颜色较浅,早材一般为奶白色,晚

主要用途

用于需要精加工、浅色、完美黏接的细木工, 如模板、裸露天花板、门、百叶窗、窗户、地 板、层压结构或非结构木制品。结构性木制 品,如构架和工程系统。

分销和货源

铁冷杉产量仅次于花旗松,占据西部林区实心 锯材产量的 22%。该树种生长于从北加州至 阿拉斯加的太平洋沿海一带,在内陆,则分布 于美国与加拿大边界一带,延伸至蒙大拿州。 货源充足。

物理及机械性质

参见第 18 或第 19 页图表。直行纹理、质地 细密。平滑度由粗糙至光滑,几乎不会开裂。 每立方米重量为 537 至 626 公斤。表面多 树结的部分用于细木工;树结较少的部分用 于一般建筑。强度和硬度较高。隔热性能良 好。能够较好地保留原色。

耐用性

耐腐性能较低。中等易加工。

Machining

★★☆☆☆

Splitting resistance

★★★★☆

Screw/nail-holding

★★★☆☆

Gluing

★★★★☆

A species combination of the five true firs: California Red fir (Abies magnifica), Grand fir (Abies grandis), White fir (Abies concolor), Noble fir (Abies procera) and Pacific Silver fir (Abies amabilis) with Western hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla). Fine-grained and with interchangeable structural performance, these trees are marketed together as an elegant softwood, classified as a white wood, combining beauty and strength. A very light colour, from creamy white spring wood to a light straw-brown (hemlock) or reddish-brown (firs).

Main Uses

Joinery that requires precision machining, a pale color and excellent gluing, such as mouldings, exposed ceilings, doors, louvres, windows, furniture, flooring and laminated structural and non-structural products. Structural products, such as framing and engineered systems.

Distribution & Availability

Second only to Douglas fir in abundance, Hem-fir accounts for 22 per cent of solid sawn production from the Western Woods region. The species grow in stands along the Pacific Coast from Northern California to Alaska and inland along the US/Canadian border as far as Montana. Readily available.

Physical & Mechanical Properties

Straight grain and fine texture. Sands to a silky smoothness with virtually no tendency to split. Weight ranges from 537 to 626 kg per cubic metre. Knotty appearance grades for joinery; lower knotty grades for general construction. Good strength and stiffness. Good insulating properties. Holds its original colour well.

Durability

Slightly durable. Moderately easy to treat.